Old Voss Line
Old Voss Line | |
---|---|
Type 18 locomotive n. 255 at Garnes | |
Overview | |
Type | Railway |
System | Norwegian railway |
Status | Heritage |
Termini |
Garnes Midttun |
Operation | |
Opened | 1883 |
Closed | 1964 |
Owner | Norges Statsbaner |
Operator(s) |
Norges Statsbaner Norwegian Railway Society (heritage) |
Technical | |
Line length | 18 km |
Number of tracks | 1 |
Track gauge | 1,435 mm (4 ft 8 1⁄2 in) |
Electrification | 15 kV 16 2⁄3 Hz AC |
Gamle Vossebanen | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Legend
|
The Old Voss Line (Norwegian: Gamle Vossebanen) is a heritage railway between Garnes and Midttun near Bergen, Norway. Originally constructed as a narrow gauge line, it formed part of the Bergen to Voss railway opened in 1883. Following the decision to complete the railway to Oslo in standard gauge, the line was upgraded in 1904. Electrified in 1954, it continued to serve as part of the Bergen to Oslo main line until the 7.5-km Ulriken Tunnel, which opened in 1964, resulted in the closure of the line.
Today, the museum railway is operated by the Norwegian Railway Association (Norsk Jernbaneklubb) and runs on Sundays between June and September over a distance of 18 km between Garnes and Midttun, taking just under one hour. The Midttun terminus is located near Nesttun, and there are further intermediate stops at Arna, Espeland and Haukeland. The service operates with a type 18 steam locomotive, no. 255, built in 1913, decommissioned in 1969 and restored by volunteers between 1981 and 1993. It pulls a series of teak carriages built between 1921 and 1938. The locomotive is stored at the restored Garnes station that features a museum, engine shed, yard and turntable.